Life

How I survived my first nude spa experience

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against being naked.  But, there’s something particularly intimidating about being told to disrobe in front of a room full of women including your two closest friends who’ve never seen you naked.

The plan was to go to Wi Spa in LA off of Wilshire and Rampart for a relaxing girls night prior to my best friend’s wedding in two weeks.  We were referred by a friend who was anxious to go but unfortunately had to work the Friday night we made reservations. For anyone in the LA area, I would definitely recommend this place.  Their prices are great and the buff + massage treatment is heavenly.  Michelle has the hands of an angel!  Anyway, after 20 years of friendship, we left our swimsuits in our lockers and bravely entered the shower and tub area.

Now on to the next challenge.  Once we jumped this major friendship hurdle I had to come to terms with being naked in front of all these strangers.  As I boldly threw off my robe and headed over to the showers, I was still attempting to cover up as discrete as possible.  I figured my stretch marks across my butt, lack of baby soft skin on my unmentionables and oddly shaped nipples would instantly draw eyes.

What I quickly learned was it literally doesn’t matter.  EVERYONE had something that wasn’t perfect.  And it felt great!

I did have a few moments after receiving the best scrub and massage of my life where I remembered I was naked and felt a little vulnerable.  Laying face up on a massage table in a room full of people will do that to you. But luckily, everyone was naked so I got over it pretty quickly.

Although going to a Korean spa on a Friday night may seem minor, the idea of embracing yourself and others truly is a positive experience that I recommend everyone enjoys at least once.

With that being said, if you do decide to take a walk on the naked (yet relaxing) side here’s a few things to keep in mind:

  1. Keep a towel or robe on you at all times. Although everyone is naked, everyone also kept their towels with them 1. It’s comforting to know you have the option to cover up if you absolutely have to and 2. The spa only gives you one towel, which I learned the hard way.
  2. Definitely book your appointment in advance. I’m a huge fan of planning ahead but with it being my first time, it was a lot easier having everything run smoothly and it adds to the relaxation experience.
  3. Don’t stare! Self explanatory, but just don’t.
1 comment on “How I survived my first nude spa experience

  1. Survival of the fittest. 😛
    Its Scary, really.

    Like

Leave a Reply

